NOR – 2015 A Class Catamaran Australian Championships


Australian International A-Division Catamaran Association Inc.(AIADCA)

2015 A Class Catamaran Australian Championships

Lake Cootharaba Sailing Club
Saturday January 3rd 2015 – Friday January 9th 2015

Australian International A-Division Catamaran Association Inc (AIADCA), in conjunction with Lake Cootharaba Sailing Club Inc. invite entries from A-Division Catamaran Sailors to compete in the 2015 Australian International A-Division Catamaran Championships.

1.1 The regatta will be governed by the current rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing, the special regulations of Yachting Australia and the class rules of the International A-Division Catamaran Association (IACA), except as any of these are altered by the sailing instructions.

2.1 The Regatta is classified as a category “C” event

2.2 The forward 25% of the hull is reserved by the Regatta Organising Committee for display of advertising by event sponsor(s). Boats intending to carry advertising should provide details of their sponsors on the entry form. Entrants will be advised if they are in conflict with the event sponsor(s). Tobacco advertising shall not be permitted.

3.1 The regatta is open to members of the AIADCA who are members of Yachting Australia. Eligible members may enter on the attached Entry Form, copies of which are available at or upon Registration, accompanied by the required Entry Fee

3.2 Entries shall be made by close of Registration time on 4th January 2015 accompanied by current Measurement & Insurance certificates.

4.1 An Entry Fee of $250 shall be payable to the AIADCA.

4.2 A discount entry of $200 shall apply to all entries received prior to 25th November 2014. Refer to attached Entry Form.

4.3 Supply Entry Form & payment receipt to Registration if paying by cheque/online in advance.


Saturday 3rd January 2015
 Equipment Inspection 1000 – 1700hrs
 Registration 1500 – 1700hrs

Sunday 4th January 2015
 Registration 1000 – 1100hrs
 Practice Races From 1300hrs
 Welcome Function 1800 hrs

Monday 5th January 2015
 Racing From 1000hrs

Tuesday 6th January 2015
 Racing From 1000hrs

Wednesday 7th January 2015
 Lay Day Provision for re-sail (if necessary)

Thursday 8th January 2015
 Racing From 1000hrs

Friday 9th January 2015
 Racing From 1000hrs
 Presentation 1900hrs

Up to Twelve (12) heats are scheduled; heats not sailed as scheduled may be rescheduled at the discretion of the Organising Committee.

The Low Point Scoring as per Appendix “A” RRS
Up to 12 races are scheduled of which 7 races are required to be completed to constitute a series.
(a) When only 7 races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores.
(b) When 8 or more races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score.
(c) The President’s Cup (for straight centreboard boats) results will be tabulated for boats series score excluding the 3 worst results.
(d) A new aged division for sailors 65 years and above will be created and results will be tabulated for boats series score excluding the 3 worst results.

Sailing Instructions will be available at Registration.

The event will be conducted from the Lake Cootharaba Sailing Club. The Regatta will be sailed on the waters of Lake Cootharaba.

The Course will be as described in the Sailing Instructions.

Competitors with current measurement certificates and conforming measurement stickers may enter these numbers in the attached entry form.
Equipment inspection and weighing of all boats will be mandatory as per timetable above and conducted in accordance with A Class Catamaran Measurement guidelines.
New sails, boats, and equipment should be measured before the Championship. Should a competitor arrive at the Championship with unmeasured sails, boats, and equipment they may be measured after arrangement (in advance) with the Measurer.
A fee will apply as per A Class guidelines.
The Measurer may spot check boats at any time during the Regatta.
A boat notified of inspection shall follow the instructions of the Race Committee. Boats failing to measure in accordance of the rules will be scored DSQ from all race heats prior.
The current IACA weight restriction of 75kgs minimum all up boat weight shall apply. It is the skipper’s responsibility to ensure their boat meets the weight restriction and is correctly weighed. Weighing facilities will be available at the event.

All boats shall have third party insurance cover of not less than AUD$5,000.000 (AUD$10,000,000 recommended).
Insurance certificates will be presented upon Registration.
All competitors who sign the Entry Form are deemed to have made a declaration that they hold valid Insurance.

Appropriate approved buoyancy aids in accordance with Yachting Australia regulations apply.

Skippers are eligible for the President’s Cup category if they compete on a boat with straight centreboards. Any exceptions must be verified by the Measurer prior to Registration.

Prizes will be awarded to the first 5 overall places. The winner will receive the Perpetual Trophy.
Prizes will also be awarded for the first 3 places in the President’s Cup.
Age division trophies will also be awarded to the highest placed sailor in each of the Masters (45-50), Grand Masters (51-55), Great Grand Masters (56-64) and Junior divisions. Prizes will be awarded as deemed appropriate by the organising committee.
A new aged category for SOFSS (Silly Old Farts Still Sailing) will be created for sailors 65 years and above.
Other prizes may be awarded at the discretion of the AIADCA depending on number of entries.

Car, Boat and trailer storage is available adjacent to the club.

A competitor agrees to be bound by the Racing Rules of the ISAF; the prescriptions and Racing Regulations of Yachting Australia, the IACA & AIADCA Class Rules, all as modified by the Sailing Instructions.
Attention is drawn to RRS Fundamental Rule 4, which states:
“The responsibility for a boat’s decision to participate in a race or to continue racing is hers alone”.
The Organising Authority, their officers, members, servants and agents accept no responsibility in respect of loss of life, personal injury, loss, or damage to property which may be sustained by reason of their participation or intended participation in the event, or howsoever arising in connection with the event.

Lake Cootharaba Sailing Club is located on the shores of Lake Cootharaba, Boreen Point, Queensland.
There is a limited number of Houses to rent locally but the area is supported by the Boreen Point camping ground and is located within thirty minutes drive of the Noosa resort area. If booking at the Camping Ground mention you are with the A Class Catamaran Championships. There are a number of camp sites reserved for the event.
Boreen Point Real Estate
Boreen Point Camping Ground
Noosa Caravan Park
Bougainvillia Caravan Park


This entry was posted in News, QLD, Regatta NOR. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *